Attempting Vegan Fudge

I love fudge. I love the texture, I love the taste. Before I became dairy free, I only ever attempted to make it once and it was so complicated I never did it again!

As I now live online, I have seen many recipes for raw vegan fudge with various flavourings. So, I thought I should have a go.

To make my fudge, I followed a recipe I found on SortedFood, which originally came from TheFoodieTeen

Video Here                     Recipe Here

However, I didn’t have any pistachios so I just left them out.

IMG_0779

The fudge was incredibly easy to make- just bang everything into a food processor and away you go! Mine came out a little less solid than I would have liked, but I’m putting this down to the lack of pistachios which was entirely my fault!

As a naturally impatient person, freezing the fudge for an hour was a much better alternative to the five hours in the fridge some other recipes called for!

And of course, the taste test… The fudge had a lovely texture, thanks to the coconut oil, and melted in the mouth (remember to leave the fudge for a minute before you eat it). I was worried about it having a coconut flavour (something I am not massively keen on) but this was masked by the chocolate and was just a nice background note.

All in all, I was extremely impressed with how easy and tasty this recipe is. In comparison to store bought fudge, there are many differences from taste, to texture, to mouthfeel. However, when compared to homemade, traditional fudge, there are more similarities. It is creamy, moreish and definitely something I will be making in the future for friends and family.

Leave a comment